“You sure you don’t want to try the hot turkey?”

Arguello sign

As much as I love sandwiches, I didn’t seek out too many sub shops or delis while in San Francisco, as there were plenty of other cuisines to try.

However, I think it speaks for itself that I made three trips, for four sandwiches, to the Arguello Market and Café. Even though it was located just around the corner from where I was staying, the pure volume of visits should be enough to sing my praises for their sandwiches

On my first two trips, I went for a classic and one of my all-time favorites- chicken salad. However, I had to do this against the recommendation of the “sandwich artist” to try their renowned hot rotisserie chicken or turkey.

The one staple throughout all of my sandwiches was the bread. Each time, I went with a delicious, thick, and soft French sourdough loaf. However, when I make it back there, I may try something called a “dutch crunch” roll (which I saw several patrons order on each of my visits). The chicken salad included a great balance of solid chunks of white meat chicken, mayo, and a nice addition of chopped green and red peppers. As usual, I kept my chicken salad pretty simple, just adding lettuce, onion, and a little vinegar (interestingly, their default was red wine vinegar as opposed to balsamic, but added essentially the same taste).

Arguello bag

My last trip came on my way to catching my flight home to Boston. Given that I hate buying food at airports or on airplanes, I doubled up my order.

To start, I went with a bacon and egg sandwich on a delicious and buttery warm croissant. For lunch, I finally tried the highly touted hot rotisserie turkey. For toppings, I stayed away from the recommended “everything,” and just went with some bacon, lettuce, tomato, and mayo. Unfortunately, my only complaint was entirely my fault, I waited to eat the sandwich until I got to the airport and by that time it had already cooled off. Regardless, the meat was delicious, along with the bread and toppings as usual.

Hot turkey

Next time I’m in the Richmond, I’ll certainly need to try one fresh, while it is still warm.

Leave a Reply

